Back to All Events

An American Ma(u)l


  • Brava Theater Center Studio 2781 24th Street San Francisco, CA, 94110 United States (map)

Brava in association with Black Artists Contemporary Cultural Experience present 

An American Ma(u)l

Written by Robert O’Hara
Directed by Edris Cooper-Anifowoshe

OCTOBER 18 – NOVEMBER 11, 2018
Brava Theater Center Studio

webmaulwashing copy.jpg

America is on the brink of economic disaster. But the newly-elected prez has a plan! Dr. Eli Whitney IV has invented a new form of cotton that will revolutionize the garment industry, but there’s one small snag – it needs to be handpicked. And the president knows just who to press into service to pick it! 

Robert O'Hara's hilarious and scathing political satire explores the eerily timely proposition of what happens to an America in the face of an administration and a populous that will resort to drastic measures, like the revocation of our most treasured freedoms and protections, to save a failing economy. An American Ma(u)l turns its lens on two families, the Jeffersons and the Washingtons, as they struggle to survive in a “new” racially divided America.


DATES/TIMES
Thursday, October 18 – 8pm (preview)
Friday, October 19 – 8pm (preview)
Saturday, October 20 – 8pm (opening night & after party)
Sunday, October 21 – 3pm
Monday, October 22 – 8pm (industry night)
Friday, October 26 – 8pm
Saturday, October 27 – 8pm
Sunday, October 28 – 3pm
Saturday, November 3 – 8pm
Sunday, November 4 – 3pm
Friday, November 9 – 8pm
Saturday, November 10 – 8pm
Sunday, November 11 – 3pm


TICKETS
$Pay What You Can: Thus, Oct 18 & Fri, Oct 19 previews & Mon, Oct 22 industry night
$15 - $25: Advanced purchases (Seating is general admission. Sliding scale price points are subject to seat availability.)
$25: At the door

 

An American Ma(u)l received funding from the Phyllis C. Wattis Foundation and the Kenneth Rainin Foundation.

 

<< See all upcoming events

Earlier Event: October 11
San Francisco Dance Film Festival
Later Event: October 19
Masters of the Currents